Skip Navigation
Office of the President

President’s Carbon Reduction Working Group

The President’s Carbon Reduction Working Group will continue to support ongoing energy conservation efforts but will also identify, evaluate, and recommend specific cost-effective initiatives and actions within the larger context of the university’s available resources. This includes academic research and other programs, that will increase the use of clean and sustainable energy on UConn’s campuses and reduce environmentally harmful emissions. The goals of this group include UConn achieving carbon neutrality on its campuses by 2030, with the ultimate goal of zero carbon by 2040.

group photo of working committee

Working Group Members:

  • Stanley Nolan, Interim Associate Vice President, Facilities Operations
  • Michelle Williams, Chief of Staff, President’s Office
  • Jeffrey Geoghegan, EVP for Finance & CFO UConn and UConn Health
  • Laura Cruickshank, Associate Vice President, Planning, Design & Construction
  • Anne D’Alleva, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Pamir Alpay, Vice President, Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
  • Gail Garber, Director, Government Relations
  • Tammie Corioso, Director, FO Business Services Center
  • Katie Milardo, Associate Director FO Conservation and Compliance
  • Elizabeth Craun, Director of Major Projects, Planning Design & Construct
  • Kimberly Rollins, Department Head & Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics
  • Anji Seth, Department Head & Professor, Geography
  • James O’Donnell, Professor & Director, Marine Sciences
  • Ugar Pasagullari, Professor & Director, Mechanical Engineering
  • Jasna Jankovic, Assistant Professor, Material Sciences & Engineering
  • Elaina Hancock, Public Relations Associate, Communications
  • Erica Pudvelis, Project Manager, Facilities Operations
  • Mary Greenwell, Academic Finance & HR Coordinator, Provost Office, Public Policy
  • Alyssa McDonnell, Ph.D. Student, Department of Agricultural & Resource Economics
  • Dylan Steer, Student, Office of Sustainability
  • Liam Enea, Student, Clean Energy Society
  • Lili Nagy-Leranth, Student
  • Lillian Adamo, Student, Office of Sustainability
  • Nicolas Lombardo, Graduate Student
    *Additional support members have been invited to speak about university initiatives and share expertise.



Energy Conservation Program

The UConn Office of Energy Conservation has been continually trying to reduce the carbon footprint of the university compared to the 2001 baseline. UConn utilizes data from our metering systems to determine which buildings require intervention to make them more sustainable and efficient. This program includes projects such as SLED 1 (pdf). Other projects include the installation of solar panels onto the Bus Stops and investigating larger solar canopy installation over existing parking lots. The Energy Conservation Program uses a combination of upgrading existing structures and improving design efforts in new structures to improve the energy efficiency of UConn’s campuses.

Data FY22

Bar chart on GHG Emissions (MTCO2e)

Sustainability Action Plan

President Maric has committed UConn to the goal of carbon neutrality by 2030, and will be releasing her Sustainability Action Plan in the near future. She has spoken with the Connecticut General Assembly about the results of the Hydrogen Study Task Force.

Radenka Maric, interim president, speaks during a press conference at the Center for Clean Energy Engineering on May 20, 2022